Bon Voyage

Traveler & photographer with a passion for everything

Masroor Temple – A New Discovery

Though Indian temples had always enticed me, the Masroor Temple in Kangra District of Himachal Pradesh left me gaping.

I rediscovered such a majestic temple in Himachal Pradesh, thanks to one of my friends, who recommended me to visit this temple.

Wow ! This was my instant reaction when I entered the temple, which I had never seen in my life. A pure and whole-some rock structure.

Situated near Lunj in Kangra, this temple is yet to be popular among tourists.

Known for its monolithic temples, the main shrine of the temples contains three stone images of Lord Ram, his brother Lakshman and wife Sita.

You will find a group of 15 shrines (Monolith Rock temple) built in the Indo-aryan style of architecture.

The temple is said to be built by the Pandavas during their exile period in the eighth century. Also known as the ‘Ajanta Ellora of Himachal Pradesh’, Musroor Temple is the only rock-cut temple in north India.

According to historians, this temple is one of the three of its kind in the country – two being very famous Ajanta cave in Maharashtra and Mammallapuran in Tamil Nadu.

When I landed there, I found no one except few temple management persons.

Situated on a hill, the temple complex has a huge rectangular water pond.

I spent nearly 30 minutes there and spirituality beckoned me. I felt calmness exist everywhere.

This is a temple which must be visited by every temple lover.

There is no direct bus to the place. It will be better if you hire a taxi from Lunj, which is 40 kilometers from Kangra.

So go and explore this beautiful place and do not forget to share your experience with me once you come back.

9 comments on “Masroor Temple – A New Discovery

  1. Bill Jones, Jr.
    December 5, 2013

    Very interesting and intricate stone work. Sad, in a way, that there was no one there.

    Like

  2. Neely Wang
    December 17, 2013

    Such detail in the stonework…so cool to see how much had survived over the centuries! I bet it was a great experience!

    Like

    • Deepak Acharya
      December 18, 2013

      Yes, a very unique temple 🙂 and I had a wonderful time there.

      Like

  3. @makingkai
    December 22, 2013

    Wow India is full of so many amazing temples I wouldn’t know where to start! Nice post 🙂

    Like

  4. Dhriti
    December 27, 2013

    Beautiful pics Deepak

    Like

  5. PhotoCory
    December 31, 2013

    Happy new year! I wish you all the best! Corina 🙂

    Like

  6. wanderbeeblog
    July 20, 2016

    Beautiful temple. I wonder how much effort it had taken to carve such a beautiful piece out of the rocks. Nice snaps.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 9, 2013 by in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,942 other followers

The Moody Traveller

Go where your heart takes you!

Salt & Coconuts

Adventure - Photography - Travel

jefridentari79

Selalu bersyukur dan Tawakkal

passaporte no bolso

blogue de viagens

THE VAGABONG

Debjani Lahiri

World Of Gem

- Short stories of a young explorer -

Surviving the affair....the cheaters perspective

I cheated. Yip I did it, I am not proud of it, but that won't change a thing. This is my story of me trying to survive one day at a time. No guarantees....

Sanjana's Sojourn

Where To Next?

A Writer's Cauldron

An assortment of stories, fanfiction and poems

backpacking ideas

The best view comes after hardest climb.

The Social Reviewer

Reviews and ratings for just about anything

WREADITOR

the fading line between writing, reading, and editing

Unbroken soul, Indomitable spirit

An account of self-realisation and the battles within.

"Kah-Chak" - A Photog's Dream

Transforming The Mundane

La Catrina Stephanie

Pero Quisiste Crecer, Verdad?

